keeping a watchful eye on the wolves

This Sheep’s Following the Shepherd – Baa Baa

This blog has been somewhat of a success, as far as small blogs go. It was a fluke. One day, on a whim, this sheep started a blog, intent on warning other sheep of some wolves in sheeps clothing that were causing a stir down in Florida. What I saw made me so terribly sad. Some listened, some agreed, some heeded the warning, some joined in warning others. But some got angry and ran away after the wolves. It’s been very difficult to watch. At times I could not bear to see any more footage of the Florida outpouring. I cannot count how many times I sat here weeping at the scenes before me. But the most difficult part has been trying to convince the sheeple that this move is not from God.

In the short time since this blog began, it’s had 86,520 total views. The busiest day was 1,591 on May 27. There have been 188 posts, and 727 comments.

Here are the Top Posts

Todd Bentley’s Angels, 11,211 views

Todd Bentley and Contemplative Meditation, 4,339 views

Following the Tracks – from Abbotsford to Lakeland (Part 1), 3,986 views

Hopefully the things I’ve blogged have helped some lost or confused sheep out there, but things are slowing down. This is not the best blog lay out but Wolf Tracks was never intended to go on forever, and while the momentum lasted, it’s been a great platform to get the truth out. Even though many excellent blogs and ministries have linked here (bringing even more traffic), I’ve notice that the main reason people show up is to read about Todd Bentley. And lately, it looks like he’s not even that popular anymore. Yesterday was the lowest visitor count since Wolf Tracks began (down to 515), so I’m taking that as my cue to bow out gracefully. To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven (Ecc. 3:1). I know it’s short notice as Wolf Tracks isn’t even a hundred days old yet, so it will remain here for reference and will continue to accept comments, as it’s still getting plenty of hits, but since I don’t think it’s healthy for this sheep to follow wolves and their road shows around for the rest of my life, I’ve decided to call it quits. Besides, sheep were meant to follow shepherds, not wolves.

Thanks to all who have stopped by to encourage, exhort, and come along side. It’s been nice meeting you all. I’ve also found some very good blogs to feed on by the way. I wish you all well, but this sheep is tired of tracking the wolves. It’s time to get back on track and follow my Shepherd.

My parting prayer is that the Lord will open the eyes of all who stop here to read. God bless you as you keep your eyes on Him.

Baa baa.

1 O come, let us sing unto the LORD: let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation.

2 Let us come before his presence with thanksgiving, and make a joyful noise unto him with psalms.

3 For the LORD is a great God, and a great King above all gods.

4 In his hand are the deep places of the earth: the strength of the hills is his also.

5 The sea is his, and he made it: and his hands formed the dry land.

6 O come, let us worship and bow down: let us kneel before the LORD our maker.

7 For he is our God; and we are the people of his pasture, and the sheep of his hand. To day if ye will hear his voice,

8 Harden not your heart, as in the provocation, and as in the day of temptation in the wilderness:

9 When your fathers tempted me, proved me, and saw my work.

Psalm 95

34 responses

  1. pjmiller

    Hi Sheepy…

    I can understand the entire ‘getting tired of following the wolves’…that in itself can be depressing and discouraging.

    While i won’t ask you to reconsider, i will say that my prayers will include you in the coming days. ‘Maybe’ a new name or focus might come to you–one which keeps track of the wolves but also encourages others to follow the Shepherd.

    “I’ve notice that the main reason people show up is to read about Todd Bentley..”

    Yes, even that when looking at the stats can be dis-heartening. Believe me i know….

    Regardless of what you do here, i ‘will’ be seeing you elsewhere! 🙂

    God bless you friend…

    your sister in Christ, pj

    August 1, 2008 at 8:15 am

  2. Lily

    Thank you for all your posts. They have been used by the Lord Jesus to help me. My life has changed drastically since April 2008. Because of Lakeland and TB, I have had to face practices and teachings done in the name of Jesus and the Holy Spirit and come away from those leaders, ministries and teachings that allow and endorse them.
    It has been challenging, upsetting and very good. I am in the Scriptures far more, have been led to some sites where I have been able to read excellent articles and discover the truth on many matters.
    I am grateful. May our Good Shepherd, the Lord Jesus lead you and bless you in all you do.
    Again, thank you for your part in this journey.

    August 1, 2008 at 11:42 am

  3. sheepyweepy

    Thank you pj,

    Yes, people want to read about bizarre things, don’t they? But that’s why I started this blog, to uncover these things, so that’s okay.

    Yes, I may be gone, but I’ve not totally disappeared. 🙂 And of course I will continue to read yours whenever I get the chance. God bless you too.

    Lily,

    Praise God! I wasn’t expecting to hear any results as I always leave that part up to the Lord, but you have blessed me today. Do you know that what you just said is what makes this all worthwhile for those of us who take the time to do this? This is why we blog. For people like you!

    I am thrilled to hear how God has opened you eyes, and so honoured that God would use a sheep like me as His vessel. Bless you, and keep reading the Word!

    August 1, 2008 at 1:47 pm

  4. I join all the others who want to thank you for the information received over these past weeks. The links have been important and encouraging.

    One of the things you stated today is how you have grieved over what you have discovered. Not all those that discern grieve but grieve we must. But for God’s grace and reasons I don’t understand, some have been spared.

    Thank you~!

    August 1, 2008 at 5:18 pm

  5. Your blog was one of the first and most informative that I came across when I first started researching the TB/Lakeland issue. I had no qualms about sending friends and family to your site because you seemed to be interested in fairly presenting the facts. Also, I could tell that you greatly desired to keep people from deception. Because of that care and concern, I ask that you prayerfully consider continuing as a watchman warning about the enemy’s traps. I know that this type of research can pull you down personally, but what if you were called for such a time as this? I have a feeling that discerning the spirits of the TB/Lakeland issue may have been just a warmup for the work that must now be done. There are greater, more subtle deceptions going on which I would not have even been looking for if I hadn’t heard of TB, and things will grow much darker before the Lord returns. As far as numbers go, you have reached more people than the numbers show because you have influenced people like me who take the truth you have spoken and share it with others.
    If the Lord has released you from this ministry, go and be blessed. But, don’t let weariness or discouragement silence your voice if Jesus still wants you to sound the alarm from this particular wall.

    Thanking God for you,
    Vicki

    August 1, 2008 at 5:28 pm

  6. While I am saddened to see you go, I praise our Lord for your boldness and courage. No doubt your efforts will prove to be a blessing to many–many times over.

    God bless you, my friend, and take care. I won’t forget your kindness and concern.

    –Bud

    August 1, 2008 at 8:11 pm

  7. Rebecca

    Dear Wolf Tracker,

    We can’t begin to tell you how important your website and others like it have been to us. God literally used these types of websites to snatch my husband and I out of the fires of deception and delusion.

    And we should have known better. Both my husband and I are well versed in the scriptures from Genesis to Revelation. And have read the entire bible over and over again in our Christians lives. Over 30 years. We were both raised in church, Baptist for him and Assembly of God for me.

    But somehow we were just worn out from giving our lives away to others. We haven’t been able to find a good bible preaching church in years. So, worn out and weary we became ensnared first by the things we were seeing on It’s Supernatural. That lead us to get involved in John Paul Jackson’s Dream Interpretation classes. This opened us up to so many things. I was more easily deceived than my husband. Unfortunately, his job is so demanding that he really didn’t have the time and fortitude to share with me is own personal doubts about these things.

    Finally, it was the Todd Bentley apostate extravagance that flung open the door of investigation. A good Christian friend shared his doubts about Todd Bentley’s claims of healings. So, I begin to search the internet. It was there that I found Church Warnings and Wolf Tracks and understood finally the depth of deception that is occurring in the body of Christ.

    We like you, literally weep over what we see and the fact that so many of the sheep don’t want the truth. Some of those sheep are our family and friends. But we hold on to the fact that God is a God of Mercy and Grace and lift them up in prayer.

    If God could have mercy on us and extend His grace to pull us out of the miry clay — surely He may yet do the same for them.

    When I send out cries of warning I include Wolf Tracks address as a place to go and investigate for themselves.

    There are many wolves in the sheep pens and it seems the shepherds have no care for the sheep. I guess that makes them hirelings. So, as I see it right now it is mostly the sheep trying to warn the other sheep — run for your lives there are wolves in our pens.

    God Bless You and direct you. Thank you for the part you played in snatching us away from the wolves.

    We’ll see you on the other side. For now we are determined to be watching and to have our lamps ready and extra oil.

    Tired in Texas

    Rebecca & David Russell

    August 1, 2008 at 9:46 pm

  8. Dan-o

    God bless you Sheepy,

    Your timing is amazing. They just announced that the Lakeland Tent is coming down after Tomorrow Night. It wasn’t supposed to happen until the 23rd…but other things have taken place.

    You’ve served us well. Enjoy the green pasture and still waters. May God rejuvenate you in Him.

    Dan-o

    August 2, 2008 at 3:19 am

  9. WT:

    Spend time with The Shepard. Rest. Laugh. Play.
    You done good. Merci.

    August 2, 2008 at 7:48 am

  10. Dan

    My Precious Brother in Christ: Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him, and he shall direct thy paths. Because of your obedience to the Lord many sheep have been delivered from satans deception, continue to give God all the glory and praise for His mercy and grace, and whatever He leads you to do will always work together for good. Trust and obey.

    August 2, 2008 at 12:45 pm

  11. sheepyweepy

    I would just like to say that – I really don’t know what to say. I am stunned by all your comments. This has clearly been God’s perfect timing, and I am amazed that He would use me to help even one person to come to the truth. This has been my prayer from the beginning. How great He is, and how kind He is to show me the fruit that He brings forth from the obedience of one small sheep.

    Marlene, bless you!

    Vicki, I believe you are right – this is only the beginning of things to come. I will consider coming back if the Lord so leads, but it would be under another blog name.

    Bud, you are too kind. Thank you for your support and all those links. You’ve been doing this for much longer than I have! You are the one who is bold and courageous. God bless you for your ministry!

    Rebecca, I am at a loss for words! Thank you for sharing. To think that I have played a small part in rescuing even one sheep from the wolves is more than I dared hope for. The glory goes to the Lord!

    Dan-o, this truly amazes me. The Lord knew my work here was finished. What a confirmation this is that this sheep heard His voice. Thank you!

    Bene D, I will spend time with Him, thank you. Can’t rest too long though – there’s always work to be done where ever he plants us.

    Dan, thank you, and bless you.

    ~~~

    Thank you Lord for my fellow sheep. Bless them and protect them in the days to come.

    ~sheepy

    August 2, 2008 at 4:39 pm

  12. Elizabeth A

    Hi Sheepy,
    I’ve been visiting here for a while, and I too have been blessed. Reading the comments above, I’ve begun to see how God is using all that has happened in Florida to wake up and shake up His people. I thank Him for using sites like this to open my eyes, and I thank you for your obedience and dedication. We are truly being ‘made ready’. I pray that you will be renewed and refreshed.God Bless you.

    August 2, 2008 at 5:06 pm

  13. It is a great encouragement to keep on going when we know that we have helped even one sheep. There probably are many others that have been helped that we won’t know about until we reach our eternal home. Just this morning I learned that someone in my family has come out of a serious doctrinal deception. I was shocked and joyous at the same time. This news came when I was wondering if my season to blog was over. For me it’s not. I believe the Lord was encouraging me to keep on going.

    I pray that the Lord continue to lead and guide you in all that you do.

    May we all keep these words in mind . . .

    1 Corinthians 15:58 Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye stedfast, unmoveable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labour is not in vain in the Lord.

    August 2, 2008 at 7:32 pm

  14. Pingback: Saying ‘Good-Bye’ to Wolf Tracks… « Sola Dei Gloria

  15. Jeremy C

    Thanks for your time and your heart. I know only a little bit of of the bitterness you have tasted. I’ve been trying to reach people in my own church who are into the Lakeland revival. It does bring tears when people simply will not listen.

    Thanks for loving God’s people enough to speak the truth. May the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit.

    August 3, 2008 at 11:03 am

  16. endtimespropheticwords

    Bless you brother – and your work ain’t over, it just might be changing shape now 🙂

    August 3, 2008 at 1:54 pm

  17. Hi,

    Thanks for all the work Brother!

    May God richly bless you and yours and may you keep following the Shepherd!!!!!!!!!!!!

    If you ever want to write a post on my blog email me and I would be honored!!!!

    Phil

    August 3, 2008 at 2:16 pm

  18. mrsbucket

    Thanks so much for all the hard work that went into this blog. You will be greatly missed! Just to let you know that like so many others, I came out of great deception and so did my Pastor’s and this blog helped that to happen. Your research was invaluable and along with many other blogs my eyes were opened to so many things and my life has changed so much in the past few months. I read my bible more, and I am so hungry for the true word of God. This has influenced my family and many friends. Thank you so much! God bless.

    August 3, 2008 at 2:46 pm

  19. lucy

    Just like in 1 Samuel 6, the presence of G-d isn’t ours just because we have the physical presence of the Ark.
    Likewise, just because the name of Jesus has been heard in that place doesn’t mean they have the presence of G-d in that place.

    So as in Isaiah 20, “Go, my people, enter your rooms and shut the doors behind you; hide yourselves for a little while until His wrath has passed by.”

    August 3, 2008 at 10:52 pm

  20. lucy

    Isaiah 26:20 scripture reference

    August 3, 2008 at 10:53 pm

  21. oxysmoron

    “sheep were meant to follow shepherds, not wolves.”

    Yes I agree. Although I can say I have no other choice but to follow ONE Shepherd. I was amazed by your stats; especially for only 100 days. Honestly never had that sort of response on the blog I journal. Not upset tho. I think it wonderful this blog received so many.

    The wolf issue is quite disturbing for me. I know wolves exist and much more than I had realized, yet this area is where the Lord led me some years ago, but I always thought this was a warning; like saying: stay on your toes, guard your heart, and pay attention.

    The effects of reading, watching, and listening to these things in this past year has had a severe effect on me. It isn’t so much the warning as it seems to stem from the content within.

    I blieve the first message I read from this blog was called: Contemplative Spirituality. This alone served me well to read.

    Thanks be to our Lord Jesus in this short season there were Hidden things which came to Light.

    Keep your eyes upon HIM who leads thee.

    August 3, 2008 at 11:38 pm

  22. sheepyweepy:

    Thank you very much for hat you have done for the body of Christ. All the posts, the tireless research, all the ‘link partnerships’ with like minded bloggers who were disgusted at this ‘revival’.

    If you feel that you need a time of rest, take it. If you feel like you are called to a different type of ministry in Christ, by all means pursue it.

    May God continue to richly bless you and may you be protected from all evil and harm in the name of Jesus for the bold step you have taken.

    August 4, 2008 at 12:40 am

  23. Douglas K. Adu-Boahen

    Dear friend,

    I hope this isn’t the end of this fine blog, because it is such an encouragement when we, the sheep, rise up to take on the wolves. Lord bless you…

    August 4, 2008 at 1:01 am

  24. Sheepy,

    I think you are definitely hearing God on your timing to stop blogging on this topic. The information in blogs like yours was very important for people searching for information regarding the Lakeland meetings and related topics about the “wolves”. I, for one, have a much better understanding of the history of the charismatic church, the evolution of certain doctrines, and the connection between current ministries in the “new” apostolic/prophetic movement due to people like you who obeyed God in this way.

    While God can use our understanding of these things to help us follow Him and to test things according to His Word, I have recently discerned Him telling me a slightly different warning to offer to my brothers and sisters.
    I think the worst part about this whole thing is how it tempts Christians on both sides of the “debate” to get in the flesh. Many, many Christians I have seen who begin with a Berean spirit to examine these latest issues with the apostolic/prophetic movement fall into an ugly mode of fleshly judgment that condemns anything or anyone remotely approving of the movement. I’m speaking of wonderful Christians who have legitimate questions and have made important points regarding testing the spirits.

    On the other hand, I have seen the ones defending Bentley and the whole Wagner/Pierce crew go from encouraging the brethren to believe in a supernatural God, to castigating anyone who simply wants to examine these things according to scripture. Suddenly, any “spirit-filled” (or not) believer who doesn’t swallow every detail whole is told they are “missing God” (or much worse). The God I know is powerful enough to get through to me as I study His Word and submit myself in humility to Him acknowledging my sinful flesh, my weakness, and my inability to understand anything unless He shows me.

    So, what I want to get down to is – love for the brethren is the most important thing in our relations to one another. Let’s ask our questions but trust in God to handle the ramifications. I believe the bible is clear on two things regarding this topic – and to the Father they are NOT a contradiction:

    1. In the last days God WILL pour out His Spirit. I believe this really is happening even now. In Ephesians He describes the five-fold ministry and how we are to minister our gifts of the spirit IN LOVE to one another so that we might come into the fullness of what God intends for the Church. Anyone who says they understand what that is on an intellectual level is kidding himself as to the depth of his revelation. It will be MUCH greater. I challenge all who read this to study how God talks about the gifts of the Spirit in Ephesians, 1 Corinthians 13 and Romans. EVERYWHERE the gifts and manifestations are described, they are followed or sandwiched in between strong admonitions to love. 1 Corinthians 13 tells us in the last portion that love is the only everlasting currency in the Kingdom of God. It doesn’t matter WHAT you do – be it extraordinary works through the power of the Holy Spirit or dazzling biblical exposition of the deception of some particular ministry and it’s harmful effects – if it is not done in the love of God it will have NO eternal impact. I challenge us all to let this sink in a little bit. Many, many times we are ALL way off the mark in how we relate to one another and the world at large. Father, forgive us all!

    2. IN the last days, there will also be much deception, many false prophets, and because of the lawless acts – the love of many will grow cold, causing a great falling away. I feel like God has shown me that one of the worst dangers of this movement and the controversy is not the deception (at this point in time, anyway) but the lawlessness of the unforgiveness and hatred those in the body of Christ on BOTH sides of the argument are in GREAT danger of developing. If we are not careful, if you are on either end of the debate and you let your flesh express its opinion without being under the discipline of the Spirit – YOU (or I) will be the one causing our brothers and sisters to stumble and making their love grow cold. Or we can be those growing cold. Do not think it cannot happen to me or to you – we are only men and women. Thought the enemy seeks to use this situation to harm our hearts in preparation for his next attack, we are not unaware of his schemes. I cry out for God to have mercy on us. I trust that He will. What is the remedy?

    Well, you all here have a love for the scriptures so GO DEEPER. Focus only on the Word of God and the Person of Jesus Christ. It is as simple for believers as always – God says those who do not receive a love for the truth will be given over to strong delusion. Do you know that we can be deceived without knowing it? Really, it wouldn’t be deception any other way!! The Delusion does not have to be (probably won’t be) the same for everyone. If you are only looking out for the deception in unbiblical teaching or actions, you will miss the greater deception we are all prone to in our hearts – unforgiveness and hatred masked as “godly” self-righteousness.

    Well, please forgive me for rambling. However, I have studied these things a good bit and prayed, asking God for what my particular response should be according to the gifts He has given me. Today, it is a warning to all of us to love as He loved. This is impossible unless we acknowledge our helplessness continually before His throne.

    grace and peace to you in the love of Christ,

    Karen

    Come visit my blog if you would like to read more on these things. I welcome your comments. I also hope to become more focused on the exhortation of the brethren to reflect on the simplicity of Christ and all He is to us.

    August 4, 2008 at 2:51 am

  25. Sheepy,
    I cannot tell you how grateful I am for the countless hours of research. It has been exhausting for me at times too – and you have saved me a lot of time.

    I pray God’s richest blessings on you. Feast on his word- for there you will find life.

    Stop by on my blog, or I’ll see you over on thegreycoats.com

    -Bill Fawcett

    August 4, 2008 at 5:05 am

  26. Hope to see you ’round sheepy, and thank you so much for all you have contributed. May the Lord bless the fruits of your labor.

    Toni

    August 5, 2008 at 3:55 am

  27. Sheepy, I remember how excited I was when I first discovered your blog!!!

    Thank you so much. Your labor has not been in vain.

    May God Richly Bless you

    Swarna Jha

    August 5, 2008 at 6:31 am

  28. Oh Sheepy, I am really sad you are leaving. I look
    everyday to see if you have changed your mind I have to say that your site was amazing and I really
    miss you. I sent so much of your information to so
    many of my friends. All your categories as well were incredible. I really, really miss you … GOD bless you, I can tell you that the fruits of your labor have been widely felt.

    Love and miss you Janet.

    August 5, 2008 at 2:56 pm

  29. God bless you for your work. I pray that you continue to bring the deceptions of the wolves into the light wherever you go next in your ministry. The sheep need you.

    Sincerely,

    Pastor Jon Sharp
    “Living in The Way”

    August 5, 2008 at 7:10 pm

  30. Thanks for taking all that time to make all those posts.

    It was not in vain, as many have come to learn of or solidify the Truth through your blog.

    I pray blessings upon you as you seek to serve Jesus.

    Hesed.

    August 9, 2008 at 11:55 am

  31. kim

    I have just now found your website, so I’m sorry to hear that you are retiring, so to speak. Even if most of your traffic is due to Todd Bentley, it has still been very helpful and does coincide with much that is going on now.

    Your articles pointed out about Bentley and the contemplative prayer, the silence, occultic tendencies, etc. that we are seeing in other movements affecting the church too, and how similar these all are.

    I was very interested in Bentley’s connections to some of the word/faith leaders that were big in the 90’s, and found that when I linked to your article from another site. My mother-in-law was a part of the vineyard movement, The Kansas City prophets here in Missouri. Mike Bickle was her pastor, and she visited the Toronto church many times, with many bizarre stories to tell when she came back, although they were moves of the spirit in her mind, bizarre to us, her family.

    We tried showing her through scripture many times how what she was a part of was not Biblical, but to no avail. This group was having classes on how to raise folks from the dead, how to receive prophcies and interpret them, speaking in tongues, spiritual mapping, where you go into your city and pray around buildings for the people who lived here in the past and are now dead, and pray for forgiveness for them, and healing for the city because of the sins they brought here and now plague the rest of us, etc.

    She passed away 8 years ago, and the last few years before she died, and was really in this stuff deep, this stuff they were teaching her really did a number on her. Towards the end, she was telling her family that she felt that demons were visiting her, she was having nightmares all the time, and felt that skeleton hands were touching her in her sleep. When we tried to convince her again how wrong this stuff was, she just told us that God was just testing her, and she needed to push through the testing. It was so awful watching her be in this. That’s why I have felt really burdened, with this purpose driven/emergent movement, and also new word/faith folks rising up with the old ones getting a second wind, to really stay glued to God’s Word, stay alert to all this false stuff, and to not watch another person fall into this without doing all I can by praying and warning.

    To make a long story longer,(sorry) that’s why sites like yours and other discernment sites have been so helpful and encouraging to me. When I saw this emergent stuff coming into my church awhile back, with practices, books, teachings, etc. similar to what my mother-in-law was into, I thought I was going crazy, especially when others I pointed it out to, didn’t see anything wrong. Your’s and other sites help show that other Christians are seeing it, and like God showed Elijah, we’re not alone.

    Thanks for all your work. You’re in my prayers.

    August 9, 2008 at 8:08 pm

  32. Awesome. I rarely ever picked up a Bible to study scriptures for myself until this whole Todd Bentley thing. Suddenly I found myself wanting to KNOW what the scriptures said…not just get someone else’s opinion on them. I have since then realized I have some very strong opinions, and started posting them on a blog myself! My intent was for some disillusioned family and friends to see it…so we’ll see. Sorry to see you stop,just when I found you, but it’s nice to know I’m not the only one.

    August 16, 2008 at 1:50 am

  33. thegreycoats

    just want to say grats and thanx. also wanna let you know we moved from wordpress to http://thegreycoats.com/

    August 18, 2008 at 9:31 pm

  34. thebigpicmin

    As I read thru these comments I was struck by lucy’s (about half way down)

    lucy said
    August 3, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    Just like in 1 Samuel 6, the presence of G-d isn’t ours just because we have the physical presence of the Ark.
    Likewise, just because the name of Jesus has been heard in that place doesn’t mean they have the presence of G-d in that place.

    So as in Isaiah 26:20, “Go, my people, enter your rooms and shut the doors behind you; hide yourselves for a little while until His wrath has passed by.”

    We do need to get people out of their harlot churches, or they too will be punished!!

    http://thebigpicmin.wordpress.com/2010/02/28/the-good-shepherd-the-wolf-or-the-leopard/

    May 31, 2010 at 5:57 am

Leave a Reply

