keeping a watchful eye on the wolves

Todd Bentley Responds to Criticism

Wolf Tracks would like to draw attention to the recent response by Todd Bentley to his followers regarding the widespread criticism of his teachings and the fruit of the Florida outpouring. This will be of interest to all who have been following the revival trail and the supposed appearing (and disappearing) of certain angels.

The following are just a few choice excerpts…

Bringing Biblical Light to Your Questions about the Lakeland Outpouring & Todd Bentley

by Todd Bentley
June 8, 2008

http://www.freshfire.ca/?Id=1059&pid=993

“… if I say that I had a vision of an angel, or encountered one or even spoke with one, but you haven’t doctrinally or experientially, come to terms with the reality of angels being in our midst, then you may not attribute it as valid. You may even tag me as someone who worships angels, seeks them for counsel, ministers under the power of, or misrepresents them in some way. In the case of the angel called “Emma,” who I described as having mother-like nurturing qualities, some have automatically assumed that my doctrine is that I believe in female angels. This has never been the case! For whatever reason God chose to show me this angel in a female persona, He did. This isn’t to say that the angel was female. Angels are spirit and appear in many forms. Perhaps that’s the form God chose this angel to take for the purpose of the revelation He gave me. They are spirit beings of light, created out of God’s glory, without gender, and appear in whatever form God chooses to send them to us.”

[…]

“…I asked my staff to remove from our website, articles that are causing such strife and division and deterring the Body from the very real and pressing focus of these last days. Jesus wept when people missed the purpose. Every blessing flowed and people received, but they missed the purpose. Don’t miss the purpose!

Again I emphasize, it’s good and right to search out the Truth and to discern the spirits, God expects us to do so. Nevertheless, it’s also important to do so outside of one’s comfortable box, not mistaking discomfort for discernment, and realizing that God is not only a God who is the same yesterday, today, and forever, but also a God of new things. Realize also, that if you spend time in His presence, in fellowship with Him, and if daily, you put on the full armor of God and spend time in His Word; you’ll be more comfortable erring on the side of extravagance rather than quench the Spirit. A body of believers without the Holy Spirit is a breathless, lifeless body.”

(…)

Read the entire response at the above link.

It may be important to note that the article ends with a reference that appears to bring weight and authority to Todd Bentley’s ministry. This hearty endorsement of the revival is from Dr. Gary S. Greig, PhD., a former Associate Professor of Old Testament and Hebrew at Regent University School of Divinity, and Senior Editor, Theology and Acquisitions for the Regal Publishing Group. He is an instructor for Vanguard Ministries, president of Kingdom Training Network and has also served under Dr. Peter C. Wagner.

NOTE: This may be a side trail, but it’s an important one. Dr. Gary Greig is the spiritual advisor of Mark Virkler (as claimed here: www.cwgministries.org/newsletters/october2003.htm). Virkler teaches that you can hear the voice of God, guaranteed, through 4 steps of meditation and journaling.

Watch this youtube of Mark Virkler practicing automatic writing/channeling here:
How to hear God’s Voice guaranteed by Mark Virkler
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bd0UqlKSSb8
The Arnott’s (TACF) say they have been profoundly impacted by Mark Virkler’s teaching.

See the on-line book written by Greig, Virkler, and Frank Gaydos here:
How to Release God’s Healing Through Prayer
http://www.cwgministries.org/books/How-to-Release-Healing.pdf

Update: There are some related comments on this subject here:

Lying Spirit Manifests Again Through Todd Bentley About Angel Emma

11 responses

  1. After reading his response, to be honest i have a hard time believing he wrote it all himself.

    I came upon the link to the document he wrote about, A Theological Response to Criticism of the Lakeland Outpouring and Todd Bentley: BIBLICAL REASONS TO RECEIVE GOD’S GLORY AND GIVE IT AWAY IN POWER EVANGELISM, yesterday at Charisma’s discussion board:

    http://charismamag.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=2555

    June 11, 2008 at 8:49 pm

  2. sheepyweepy

    pj,

    I also wonder if he had an assistant help him with that one.

    Thanks for the link. That’s quite an interesting thread, although I’ve only gotten as far as half way through.

    June 11, 2008 at 9:26 pm

  3. As I was reading this, I kept thinking, “This doesn’t sound like Todd. This just doesn’t sound like him at all.” Looks like I’m not the only one who thought that.

    Whoever Todd’s spin doctors are, they need a little work, ’cause I’m not exactly buyin’ the whole Emma angel thing.

    June 12, 2008 at 3:49 am

  4. I have read Todd Bentley’s defense of the female Angel Emma posted on this site and quoted from Bentley’s site, that the angel would not necessarily be female, just appear female. Response, so now God is the author of confusion, so we are not able to discern? As to discernment critics needing to think outside their comfort box, I have read Jackie Alnor and Jacob Prasch’s demolition of Bentley’s stronghold(s). I assure you that their comfort box is in fact Scripture itself. Is it written or is it not written? What Christians should worry about is when they are comfortable outside of the Scripture zone! As to Bentley seeing Jesus physically, this reminds of Paul Cho claiming he saw Jesus appear dressed up as a fireman. Sound good, only one problem, the Book of Acts (our comfort box if we are good Bereans) states that Jesus Christ must physically remain in Heaven until he returns in glory! Even though Bentley’s chief apologist, Gary S. Greig, is an instructor at Jack Hayford’s Foursquare denomination Church on the Way, who is a Rick Warren promoter, Bentley is no where near the global clear and present danger to the church at large that Rick Warren is with his Global Peace Plan.

    June 21, 2008 at 6:28 pm

  5. sheepyweepy

    James Sundquist,

    Thanks very much for your interesting comment. I agree with your conclusion.

    I might also mention that your book on the Purpose Driven Life was very helpful for me a few years ago. Thank you.

    June 23, 2008 at 9:08 am

  6. Pingback: A Closer Look at Gary Greig’s Endorsement of the Florida Outpouring « Wolf Tracks

  7. Pity – the video listed above (How to hear God’s Voice guaranteed by Mark Virkler
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bd0UqlKSSb8) has been removed from YouTube by whoever put it there in the first place.

    sigh

    Bentley is of Baal, not the Lord.

    June 25, 2008 at 8:53 pm

  8. sheepyweepy

    Well well well. Thanks for spotting that. Isn’t that typical? Funny how the truth does not need to be hidden or covered up, unlike the tracks of wolves in sheeps clothing.

    June 26, 2008 at 1:01 am

  9. Pingback: More Disappearing Trails « Wolf Tracks

  10. Brian Adamz

    Dear sirs,

    I am sorry to see that we judge what we dont understand. You Jesus said we would do greater things that He did. Now if you went out and did something greater than Jesus .. how would you be able to point to scripture and say see Jesus did it…Would be able too. However, it is still of God as he said it would be done.
    I am a struggling christian- hurt very deeply by all the strife and divisions in our faith. Yes Todd was one who I went to and couldnt stay under his tent. I am not sure if it was my unbelief or some discernment. However, exposing a man takes more than what you have mentioned.
    I personally know a trusted man of God who had an encounter with God and God showed me he was his Apostle. I am not sure if that is true or not but your arguement is an opinion of what you think scripture means or says as far as Jesus not being able to appear.
    When i was born again the Holy Ghost came thru the top of my truck and entered into me and washed me out and cleansed me of all guilt, shame , and sin.
    He filled me with a joy that was astounding. I still smoked and had no guilt. The first thing that happened to me in chuech was to guilt me for being a smoker as a man of God!!
    You know I lost my joy, peace and the guilt returned. That is 16 years or more ago and I never did get the pure joy of the Lord back again and I ended up trying to regain by works what I was freely given.
    Today I relise the need to expose. I also know the greatest need of being gentle and kind when bringing correction. Not to condemn as those who are wounded already see this and it further sends them into confusion as you all argue publically.
    I am so greatful the Lord said he will not lose one who Father has given Him. Now if we look at when he said that, one might say he was only speaking of those who were with him. Peter, paul, mathew etc. Not those who are now believers. However, jn 17 gives the answer to this one.
    I have heard people say “DONT JUDGE OR YOU WILL BE JUDGED!” Yet out of their mouth comes all these judgements.
    It so sadens my heart to see us al in such disensions.
    Today I listened to a sation that exposes people on the sirius radio. I am in the far north of Canada in a camp. It is refreshing to hear truth being brought forth. the only trouble is that each fold has a bias. They leave out their bias when trying to expose another.
    Evangelicals love to say, ” Oh those extremists!” aLL because God gave me a revelation of himself by the Holy ghost, that made me seek Him with all my heart afterwards that brought me to a depth of expereince others havent had. Well it is all about the Love of Christ.
    You will know them by their great descensions!! NO!! It says by their Great Love for one another.
    Oh how I yearn to see the day we could actually love one another.
    They sold their homes and laid their money at the feet of the APOSTLES>>> so that all could have equally> Not for great huge buildings and huge wages.

    We are all extremists you see.. each one according to his own interpretation of scripture. One saying there is no Apostles or Prophets anymore… therefore he is a false Prophet because he said he hears God. This killing the faith in those who even God has touched and called to His work for these times.
    It makes me so sick in heart and yes angry.
    Well, I am not even sure who said all this about Bentley but here is my take.

    It says go to him in person and deal with your indifference directly not to spew slander all over the internet.
    Guess what I dont like Bentley. so I am not defending him. I am trying to defend the poor passer byu that sees us Christains at war with one another.

    February 11, 2009 at 5:58 am

  11. sheepyweepy

    Yes, Brian, it is a shame that there is division, but Jesus warned his followers to beware of false prophets many many times. The poor passer by also needs to be warned lest he follows after the hirelings and wolves instead of the Good Shepherd. We warn because we love the flock and are instructed to judge INSIDE the church…we don’t judge non-belivers, nor do we judge hearts and motives, but we are to judge teaching and fruit of those who are handling God’s Word.

    February 16, 2009 at 6:19 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers